Arizona. My New Home.

4 Jul

I befriended a horse today. I saw a family of quail on a side street (Two were squabbling with each other). I saw bunnies with big white fluffy tails.

I saw a turtle-dove nesting, a sun fried bearded lizard, all sorts of little lizards. I saw more quail while hiking. Then I was enchantingly led through the desert mountains by a critter that looked like a cross between a squirrel and a chipmunk.

I had a rattle snake scare and right as I was walking alert as can be, a hawk flew out from inside a bush (kinda near my head) scared me… I yelped!

And then I saw two hummingbirds on my way home. One after the other. The significance being that I have only seen a hummingbird once in my life and they have always been like little mythical creatures to me.

That was a treat. I smiled from ear to ear.  

The smell of the desert after the rain..

woodsy, warm honey and cedar with a hint of floral… 🙂

3 Responses to “Arizona. My New Home.”

  1. Jennifer Stuart July 4, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful introduction to a new home! Good for you! 🙂

  2. cloudborne July 4, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Welcome to the desert!

    • dreamscapebuttrlies July 4, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      I may have been born and raised an east coast gal, but in my heart of hearts, that’s not the true me! I’m an explorer with a curious heart born for adventure~! The west is like a dream… 😀 Thank you Jennifer and cloudborne!!

Leave a comment

Subtletrend

A topnotch WordPress.com site

how to be a man

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

cancer killing recipe

Inspiration for meeting life's challenges.

playwithlifeorg

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

valeriu dg barbu

©valeriu barbu

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

this is... The Neighborhood

the Story within the Story

The Person Next to You

... we're not alone in the journey of life!

Darrell Creswell - A Study of Christian Grace

Just a servant with a laptop sharing stories of Grace, Love, Hope and Comfort

MesAyah

Melodic hiphop meets deep reflections about life and death

A writer & her adolescent muse

writing, writers, & worlds (of my own making)

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Damyanti Biswas

For lovers of reading, crime writing, crime fiction